Dawn represents the Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney constituency, along with her colleague Gerald Jones MP in the Westminster Parliament. They are both aware of the long and significant history of the Labour Party and Welsh Labour in these communities. They are communities with radical non-conformist traditions marked since the days of the Merthyr Rising against the iron masters in 1831. It is believed to be the first occasion on which a Rad Flag was raised. Across the South Wales voices workers were raising their voices including the Chartists and in the late 19th century those, like Keir Hardie, calling for votes for women and supporting the Suffragette movement.

The home of Keir Hardie, a founding father of the Labour Party, who was first elected to represent these communities in 1900. The constituents have since elected Labour voices in : S O Davies, Ted Rowlands (now Lord Rowlands), Dai Havard and Gerald since 2015.

In the Senedd/Welsh Parliament the representatives have been Huw Lewis (1999-2016) and Dawn since 2016. Dawn became the first woman elected to represent the seat in either Westminster or Welsh Parliaments in over a century of representation.

Trade unions continue to be active in the constituency as does Merthyr Tydfil Trades Council.

The Labour Party has controlled the local councils for long periods during this time. However since 2017 Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council has been controlled by Independents while Labour controls Caerphilly County Borough Council.

In terms of its general administration and public services The constituency straddles two local authorities, two Police force areas (Gwent and South Wales), two Health Board areas (Aneurin Bevan and Cwm Taf Morgannwg) and two umbrella voluntary organisations (VAMT/GAVO).


Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search